12/31/2008

New Laws Effective January 1, 2009

Tomorrow, being January 1, a number of new laws will take effect. These include:

  • An increase in Colorado's minimum wage. Minimum-wage workers will automatically receive a 26-cent pay increase as required by the Colorado Constitution. For more information, see the Colorado Dept. of Labor & Employment's Minimum Wage Fact Sheet.
  • New drunk driving laws. Careful you don't party too hardy tonight, because a new drunk driving law takes effect at midnight, requiring that everyone charged with a DUI be required to install an ignition interlock device in their car, or lose their license for a period of time. The new law states that interlock devices will be required for first-time offenders as well as repeat offenders.
  • Sales tax rate changes. Some cities and counties will have an increase in sales tax. To find out if your city or county is affected, and what the money will go for, see the Colorado Dept. of Revenue's press release.

2 comments:

pitatt said...

The information posted regarding DUI laws effective January 1, 2009 is incorrect. Interlock devices are NOT required for first time offenders with BAC under .17, but may be installed as a VOLUNTARY option for early reinstatement of an interlock restricted license 30 days after revocation. First time offenders under .17 may opt not to have an interlock device installed, in which case revocation is for 9 months. Please review the law or access the DMV website for new law information.

Amy said...

Pitatt,
Thank you for your reply - but if you read my post you will see that I wrote "everyone charged with a DUI be required to install an ignition interlock device in their car, OR lose their license for a period of time." My post never stated that everyone must use the interlock.

Thank you,
Amy

Popular Posts